Off-campus UNL users: To download campus access dissertations, please use the following link to log into our proxy server with your NU ID and password. When you are done browsing please remember to return to this page and log out.

Non-UNL users: Please talk to your librarian about requesting this dissertation through interlibrary loan.

Concerto for violin and orchestra

Nonglak Prasopsook, University of Nebraska - Lincoln


A composition of approximately 20 minutes in three movements: Moderato, Andante, and Allegro, for solo violin and orchestra. The first movement is in modified sonata form with two contrastive ideas: one lyrical and ornamental, the other angular with syncopated rhythm. The second movement, in ternary form, depicts a ruined temple at twilight. Despite the melodic simplicity, the movement employs rhythmic conflict caused by independent rhythmic patterns in different layers. The opening motives of the third movement generate the ideas for the whole movement, which is in an individualized form. The harmony is static, using chordal ostinato. The fast and steady rhythmic pulse of the last movement functions as a resolution for the complex rhythm of the early movements. The pitch language, which is influenced by Thai music, includes the use of ornaments, whole tone scale, and the intervals of the 4th (5th) and 2nd, as heard in one of the primary pitch sets, (0, 2, 7). ^

Subject Area

Music|Education, Music

Recommended Citation

Prasopsook, Nonglak, "Concerto for violin and orchestra" (2000). ETD collection for University of Nebraska - Lincoln. AAI9977013.