Agricultural Leadership, Education & Communication Department



Date of this Version

September 1996


Produced by the Department of Agricultural, Leadership Education, and Communication, Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources, University of Nebraska – Lincoln.


This self-study report is the result of extensive collaborative effort of faculty and staff in the Department of Agricultural Leadership, Education and Communication (AgLEC). Special appreciation is extended to those faculty who had primary responsibility for writing sections that address the department's five Action Plan areas. Leadership for the writing team was provided by Professor Qzzie Gilbertson, Chair of Undergraduate Programs, and also included Professor Leverne Barrett, Chair of Graduate Programs; Professor Bill Brown, Chair of Research and Scholarly Activity; Professors Kay Rockwell and Jim Randall, Co-Chairs of Distance Education; and Professor Dick Fleming, Chair of Outreach.

Other faculty who were heavily involved in writing include Professor Liz Sanset, whose technical writing expertise added clarity and consistency to the final document, and Professors Lloyd Bell, Susan Fritz, Joyce Lunde, Teny Meisenbach, and Jerry Parsons.

Much gratitude is due to an able secretarial staff: June Crockett, Betty James, Sandy Jorgensen, and Jacque Keller. Appreciation is also expressed to other AgLEC faculty for their thoughtful comments on earlier drafts of this report. Finally, thanks are due to Dean Don Edwards of the College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, and Dean Darrell Nelson of me Agricultural Research Division, Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources, for constructive comments and suggestions in preparation of this report.