Libraries at University of Nebraska-Lincoln


Document Type


Date of this Version



Thesis (M.M.)—University of Nebraska—Lincoln, 1970. Department of Music.


Copyright 1970, the author. Used by permission.


This collection of six sonatas by Pavel Josef Vejvanovsky, a seventeenth century Czechoslovakian composer, has been transcribed to provide students, teachers, and performers of brass instruments with a practical edition of these obscure but interesting compositions.

Much of the wealth of music written for brass instruments in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries is, unfortunately, not readily available.Also, much this music seldom performed because many of the compositions require string orchestras.Even in large universities and communities, the procurement and rehearsal of a chamber orchestra is often extremely difficult, thus discouraging the performance of these works.The goal of transcribing these sonatas for organ and brass is to increase the practically and versatility of these pieces of music.

Advisor: Larry H. Lusk