Off-campus UNL users: To download campus access dissertations, please use the following link to log into our proxy server with your NU ID and password. When you are done browsing please remember to return to this page and log out.

Non-UNL users: Please talk to your librarian about requesting this dissertation through interlibrary loan.

Exploring the Eclectic Piano Works of Mathew Fuerst

Seung Kyung Baek, University of Nebraska - Lincoln


The purpose of this dissertation is to introduce its readers to contemporary classical composer Mathew Fuerst through an analysis of his five piano works: Three Etudes for Piano (1999), The Drift of Things (2009), Nocturne (Walking Along the Danube at Night in Budapest) for two pianos (2013). This resource provides Fuerst’s biography, his compositional style and briefly explores György Ligeti, one of the great influences on Fuerst's compositional style. Each of his piano pieces is discussed in terms of genre, expressive issues and techniques, form, harmony, melody, rhythm, and texture. This study is a resource for pianists who consider analyzing or performing Fuerst’s piano works.

Subject Area

Music|Musical composition|Musical performances

Recommended Citation

Baek, Seung Kyung, "Exploring the Eclectic Piano Works of Mathew Fuerst" (2021). ETD collection for University of Nebraska-Lincoln. AAI28651558.