Documentary Editing, Association for



Date of this Version


Document Type



Documentary Editing, Volume 20, Number 4, December 1998.

ISSN 2476-1796 (electronic); ISSN 2167-1451 (print)


1998 © the Association for Documentary Editing. Used by permission.


The Association for Documentary Editing confers the Julian P. Boyd Award on a senior scholar who has made a major contribution to American history and culture through documentary editing. The highest honor the Association bestows, the Boyd Award is unique in its recognition of lifetime achievement in the field of documentary editing. It is awarded every third year. The 1998 recipient of the Julian P. Boyd Award is JohnY. Simon.

The Lyman H. Butterfield Award is presented annually to an individual, project, or institution for contributions in the areas of documentary publication, teaching, and service. The Association for Documentary Editing awards the 1998 Butterfield prize to Joseph R. McElrath, Jr., in recognition of his achievements in textual and bibliographic studies and editing and his generosity in service to the profession.