Digital Commons - Information and Tools


Date of this Version

March 2006


Completed November 2005, Final Project, Music 974: Wind Symphonies


Mozart’s wind music occupies a rather small space in the overall scope of his compositional output, numbering a total of ten works. Yet when viewed in the larger context of Mozart’s life, the wind music was written over the span of nine years, encompassing a large period from his youth up to his last decade in Vienna. Ranging from the simple divertimenti (K. 166 and 186) through the Tafelmusik (K. 213, 240, 252, 253 and 270) and finally culminating in the three Serenades (K. 361, 375 and 388), the wind music demonstrates Mozart’s maturation in wind writing, and also serves to illustrate the evolution in his use of sonata forms.

Mozart presentation.ppt (288 kB)
Mozart presentation.ppt