Bureau of Business Research


Date of this Version



Business in Nebraska vol. 58, no. 673


Copyright 2003 by Bureau of Business Research, University of Nebraska.


The Bureau of Business Research recently exam- Key factors of the success of rural Nebraska's ined both successful and struggling economic peers of nine rural county1 groups in Nebraska to explore how comparable rural counties across selected Midwest states achieved economic success during the 1990s. The states are Arkansas, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma, South Dakota, and Wisconsin (Figure 1). The county groups are comprised of rural counties that shared industry structure and demographic traits in 1990, and had similar location characteristics. A case study approach was used to examine and identify the fundamental factors of each economic peer's success or struggle from 1990 to 1999.

Butler/Saunders County Group

Gage/Saline/Otoe County Group

Custer County Group

Dixon County Group

Dawson County Group

McPherson County Group

Boone County Group

Grant County Group

Chase/Clay County Group