Computer Science and Engineering, Department of


First Advisor

Byrav Ramamurthy

Date of this Version

Fall 11-2018


A thesis presented to the faculty of the graduate college at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln in partial fulfillment of requirements for the degree of Master of Science, Major: Computer Science, under the supervision of Professor Byrav Ramamurthy, Lincoln, Nebraska, November 2018.

Copyright (c) 2018 Naureen Hoque


The already high demand for more bandwidth usage has been growing rapidly. Access network traffic is usually bursty in nature and the present traffic trend is mostly video-dominant. This motivates the need for higher transmission rates in the system. At the same time, the deployment costs and maintenance expenditures have to be reasonable. Therefore, Passive Optical Networks (PON) are considered promising next-generation access technologies. As the existing PON standards are not suitable to support future-PON services and applications, the FSAN (Full Service Access Network) group and the ITU-T (Telecommunication Standardization Sector of the International Telecommunication Union) have worked on developing the NG- PON2 (Next Generation PON 2) standard.

Resource allocation is a fundamental task in any PON and it is necessary to have an efficient scheme that reduces delay, maximizes bandwidth usage, and minimizes the resource wastage. A variety of DBA (Dynamic Bandwidth Allocation) and DWBA (Dynamic Wavelength and Bandwidth Allocation) algorithms have been proposed which are based on different PONs (e.g. EPON, GPON, XG-PON, 10G- EPON, etc.). But to our knowledge, no DWBA scheme for NG-PON2 system, with diverse customers and prioritized traffic, has been proposed yet. In this work, this problem is addressed and five different dynamic wavelength and bandwidth allocation (DWBA) schemes are proposed. First, mixed integer linear programming (MILP) models are developed to minimize the total delay of the high priority data. Due to the MILP’s high computational complexity, heuristic algorithms are developed based on the MILP model insights. The five heuristics algorithms are: No Block-Split Heuristic (NBH), Equal Block-Split Heuristic (EBH), Priority Based No Block-Split Heuristic (P-NBH), Priority Based Equal Block-Split Heuristic (P-EBH), and Priority Based Decider Block-Split Heuristic (P-DBH). Six priority classes of requests are introduced with the goal of minimizing the total delay for the high priority data and to lessen the bandwidth wastage of the system. Finally, experiments for the performance evaluation of the five DWBA schemes are conducted. The results show that P-NBH, P-EBH, P-DBH schemes show a 47.63% less delay and 30% of less bandwidth wastage on average for the highest priority data transmission than the schemes without priority support (NBH and EBH). Among these five schemes, NBH method has the highest delay, whereas EBH and P-EBH waste more bandwidth than the other schemes. P-DBH is the most efficient among the five because this scheme offers the lowest delay for high priority data and the minimum bandwidth wastage for lower priority ones.

Adviser: Byrav Ramamurthy