Date of this Version



This publication is printed and issued by Oklahoma State University as authorized by the Dean of the Division of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources and has been prepared and distributed at no cost to the tax payer. © 1977, The Board of Regents of the University of Nebraska on behalf of the University of Nebraska–Lincoln Extension. All rights reserved.


There are eight classes of wheat: Durum wheat, Hard Red Spring wheat, Hard Red Winter wheat, Soft Red Winter wheat, Hard White wheat, Soft White wheat, Unclassed wheat, and Mixed wheat.

This publication discusses the principal wheat kernel damage: germ (sick and mold); heat; black tip fungus; blight or scab; green (immature), sprout, insect and insect chewed; frost (blistered, candied, flaked, and discolored black or brown). It also discusses special grades: infested, ergoty, garlicky, light smutty; smutty, treated, dockage, shrunken and broken kernels, foreign material, and test weight per bushel.