Music, School of


Date of this Version



Copyright 2009 Randall Snyder

This is a revised version that replaces Quintet No. 2 (2007).


Chrome Pieces (2009)

I Incisive

II Veiled

III Plaintive

IV Manic

V Elegaic

Program notes: Chrome Pieces is in part an exploration of the coloristic capabilities of the brass quintet. Consisting of mostly fast, relatively concise music, the quintet features solos and duets in the inner movements while emphasizing full, equal ensemble participation in I and V, somewhat suggestive of the arch form. Further symmetry is provided by the use of mutes in II and IV. The opening movement, cast in three sections, is built around a marcato four-note figure yielding to a softer, lyric middle section. The tuba is the featured soloist in the jazz waltz-like II . The central slow movement is built around four repetitions of a passacaglia and features horn and trombone cantilenas. It’s somewhat tonal style is meant to contrast with the rest of the pantonalquintet. The fourth movement features staccato muted trumpets in 2nds. The final movement isa slow chorale that builds in intensity before a quiet conclusion. In its slow, homophonic style, the last movement is meant to mirror to some extent III rather than I, thus avoiding the complete predicatability of the arch form.