National Park Service


Date of this Version



Published in Weber, Samantha, and David Harmon, eds. 2008. Rethinking Protected Areas in a Changing World: Proceedings of the 2007 GWS Biennial Conference on Parks, Protected Areas, and Cultural Sites. Hancock, Michigan: The George Wright Society.


The National Capital Region Network (NCRN) contains 11 parks within the District of Columbia, Maryland, Virginia, and West Virginia (Figure 1a): Antietam National Battlefield (ANTI), Catoctin Mountain Park (CATO), Chesapeake and Ohio Canal National Historical Park (CHOH), George Washington Memorial Parkway (GWMP), Harpers Ferry National Historical Park (HAFE), Manassas National Battlefield Park (MANA), Monocacy National Battlefield (MONO), National Capital Parks–East (NACE), Prince William Forest Park (PRWI), Rock Creek Park (ROCR), and Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts (WOTR). These parks are some of the most visited in the National Park Service (NPS) system due to the urban context in which many of the parks are located, as well as the proximity to the major population centers of the District of Columbia and Baltimore (Carter et al. 2006). The integrated assessment focuses on Rock Creek Park, one the most urban of the NCRN parks.