National Collegiate Honors Council


Date of this Version



Honors in Practice, Volume 15, 2019


Copyright 2019 by the National Collegiate Honors Council


I am extremely honored to receive the NCHC Founders Award. The introduction that Richard Badenhausen made, quoting from Jeff Portnoy’s letter on my behalf, was too overwhelming for me to grasp. It is not like me to be emotional or speechless, but this is how I feel. In listening to the other awards made in the name of Sam Schuman and Ron Brandolini, I think back to those people who were friends over the decades that I have spent in honors. Sam was the greatest leader of this organization, and I can remember my last meeting with him in New Orleans at Café du Monde, when he reflected on his lifelong attachment to our organization without ever letting on that this was likely the end. I can still remember my shock and sadness when Sam died. Ron Brandolini hosted my reception for new directors at the conference I ran in Orlando. He was instrumental in bringing two-year honors programs into prominence in NCHC, and his genial spirit made that day an exceptional event. Acknowledging current leaders with awards named for such legendary figures—John Zubizarreta for the Sam Schuman Award and Eddie Weller for the Ron Brandolini Award—honors our history, present, and future. Both recipients are essential members of our organization who contribute more than we can acknowledge in a ceremony. I am proud to work with them.