Branch Overview

The Constitution of the State of Nebraska distributes the judicial power of the state among the Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, ­district courts, and county courts. All state courts operate under the administrative direction of the Supreme Court.
In addition to the courts created by the Constitution, the Nebraska judicial system has two other courts – the separate juvenile courts located in Douglas, Lancaster, and Sarpy Counties, and a statewide Workers’ Compensation Court.




Civil Case Appellate Standards of Review (and a Very Few Unavoidable Related Propositions of Law), Updated and Revised (Current through August 3, 2007), Alan G. Gless


Nebraska Probation Revocation: A Primer (2007 Revision), Alan G. Gless