Law, College of



Date of this Version

Fall 2018

Document Type



The Nebraska Transcript, Fall 2018, Vol. 51 No. 2


Copyright (c) 2018 University of Nebraska School of Law


1 Dean's Message

2 Faculty Notes

6 Professor Jessica Shoemaker awarded Fulbright

7 Bill Fisher joins faculty as visiting professor

7 Anna Shavers named associate dean for diversity and inclusion

8 Colleen Medill receives University Faculty Excellence Award

10 Gatlauk Ramdiet -- From Sudan to the United Nations via Nebraska Law

12 University of Chicago’s Martha Nussbaum, Saul Levmore deliver Pound Lecture

14 Nebraska Law wins 17th regional Client Counseling Competition

15 Treasures Lost, Treasures Found: indexing the first 20 volumes of The Nebraska Transcript, by Sandra B. Placzek,

19 Jeffrey Funke Delivers Spring Commencement Address

22 College alumni boards transition to Dean's Advisory Board

24 Alumni Reunion

26 Eric Berger, Michael Heavican, Jan Gradwohl, Jared Koch recognized by Alumni Council

27 AlumNotes

33 In Memoriam: Milton Alexander Mills III, ’47, Edward Addison Cook III, ’51, Harris William (H.W.) Snyder, ’52, Ira S. Epstein, ’56, Gene C. Stevens, ’58, Edwin A. Langley, ’61, Dennis Michael Coll, ’71, Lyle R. Huffman, ’71, David Jacobson, ’73, Craig Dwight Martinson, ’73, John McHenry, ’73, Olivia Guerra Keating, ’76, Dan Powers, ’76, Bradley Gianakos ’91, Tania Stewart ’00, David Patrick Broderick ’09

36 Report on Giving