Law, College of



Date of this Version

Summer 2022

Document Type



The Nebraska Transcript: University of Nebraska College of Law. Fall 2022


Copyright © 2022 The University of Nebraska Board of Regents. All rights reserved.


Dean's Message

Remembering Anna Williams Shavers 4

Sold-out Women Lead event empowers leaders 9

Reward outweighs risk at Lavender Legal Center 12

LaChandra Pye, '09, named multicultural homecoming nominee 14

Nebraska Legal Diversity Council founded 16

Sullivan recognized for work on Tenant Assistance Project 18

Children’s Justice Attorney Education Program selects inaugural Fellows 20

White House, Attorney General recognize Tenant Assistance Project 22

Faculty Notes 24

Matthew Schaefer named Clayton Yeutter chair 32

Student team wins regional patent application drafting competition 34

Three faculty earn professorships 35: Kristen Blankley, Jessica Shoemaker, Adam Thimmesch

Housing Justice Program offers array of opportunities 36

Magilton & students contribute paper to European Centre for Excellence 38

Stohs & EClinic recognized at Annual Entrepreneurship Summit 40

Beard: Guiding the Law of Military Space Operations 41

Dean’s Advisory Board honorees recognized 42

Celebrating the Class of 2022 43

AlumNotes 46

In Memoriam 54 : Dwight L. Clements, Warren E. Van Norman, Peter R. Durland, Tedd C. Huston, Frederick J. Hurlbut, Leslie W. Jensen, Marshall D. Becker, Claire D. Johnson, Glenn A. Rodehorst, Dick H. Hartsock, Walter E. Gallawa, Gordon M. “Mac” Hull, Richard C. Schmoker, Glen J. Soukup, James L. Birkel, Marilyn A. Hutchinson, Stephen A. Mazurak, Richard L. Davenport, Frank E. Landis, John L. Erickson, James E. Gordon, Wayne C. Kreuscher, M. Susan Carlson, George G. Rhodes, Kirk O. Kuwitzky, Thomas R. Dilley, Jane P. Nerison, Royce E. Norman, Larry D. Ohs, Deborah K. Gilg, James B. Fleming, Jonathan C. Hook, Wayne L. Blankenbiler, Douglas F. Fagan, Jone M. Bosworth, Joe E. Schaefer, David G. Brown, Gregory P. Bolton, Shane E. Perkins, Matthew G. Marvin

Multicultural Legal Society celebrates 50th anniversary 59

Nebraska Law Review commemorates centennial anniversary 60

Gould named Law Alumni Master 61

Schmid Law Library undergoes transformation 62

College welcomes new faculty 66

Report on Giving 68

Included in

Law Commons