Nebraska Academy of Sciences


Date of this Version



1988. Transactions of the Nebraska Academy of Sciences. XVI: 91-113. Copyright © 1988 Rolfsmeier


A recent botanical survey of Seward County in southeastern Nebraska recognizes ten representative plant communities including four major vegetation zones (tall-grass prairie, eastern deciduous forest, floodplain woodland and lowland [floodplain] prairie), and a total of 599 species of vascular plants representing 324 genera in 95 families. Three hundred seventy-five species were not previously reported for the county. Although the study area includes an interesting topographic and perhaps physiographic boundary formed by the terminal moraine of the Kansan glaciation, no evidence supporting an analogous floristic boundary was found.

Included in

Life Sciences Commons