Nebraska Academy of Sciences


Date of this Version



Transactions of the Nebraska Academy of Sciences, vol. 5 (1978)


Copyright by the author.


Medical radiology and radiology at Creighton University's School of Medicine and its teaching hospitals have been closely intertwined from the very time of Roentgen's announcement of his discovery of X-rays on 28 December 1895. A good roentgenogram was produced at Creighton only 46 days later! X-ray equipment was installed at both the out-patient dispensary and the hospital in 1900. Radiology departments were established in both institutions in 1910. Many improvements (faster photographic emulsions, contrast materials, radiotherapy, founding of a Roentgen Technology School), were witnessed by A. F. Tyler who headed both departments (l9l 0-33). He was succeeded by 1. F. Kelly, Sr. (1933-63), who presided over many further advances, including a residency program, contrast material improvements, automatic film processing, diagnostic radionuclides, cobalt teletherapy, and image amplification. The third and fourth chairmen, D. A. Dowell (1963-71) and N. P. Kenney (1971 to present), witnessed further great diagnostic advances (ultrasound for non-ionizing visualization of many otherwise inaccessible structures, computerized tomography for the imaging of many organs and lesions previously non-demonstrable by any method), as well as great therapeutic advances, including the use of the linear accelerator, and interventional radiology.