National Collegiate Honors Council


Date of this Version



Published in Journal of the National Collegiate Honors Council, Fall/Winter 2015, Volume 16, Number 2.


Copyright © 2015 by the National Collegiate Honors Council.


The University of Alaska serves the diverse peoples of Alaska through three separately accredited universities and their community campuses. The system’s three universities at Fairbanks (UAF), Anchorage (UAA), and Juneau (UAS) differ greatly. UAF is a research university located in the Alaskan interior in a city of under 100,000 people. UAA is a comprehensive university in the population and commercial center of the state. UAS is a regional university located in Alaska’s capitol that serves the people of Southeast Alaska (the S is for Southeast). Within each of these universities, the faculty developed honors programs that fit the context and mission of their unique institution. While these programs differ in their particulars and evolved independently, they have had remarkably similar emphases and impact.