National Collegiate Honors Council



Date of this Version

Fall 2015


JNCHC 16:2 (Fall/Winter 2015)

ISBN 978-0-9825207-5-8

ISSN 1559-0151


© Copyright 2015 by the National Collegiate Honors Council


50th Anniversary Issue

Forum on the Value of Honors

with essays by James Herbert and by 39 college and university presidents:

Paul W. Ferguson, President of Ball State University; Honors Dean: James S. Ruebel

J. David Armstrong, Jr., President of Broward College; Honors Director: Sheila Jones

Soraya M. Coley, President of Cal Poly Pomona; Honors Director: Suketu P. Bhavsar

Elizabeth A. Dinndorf, President of Columbia College; Honors Director: John Zubizarreta

Quintin B. Bullock, President of Community College of Allegheny County; Honors Director: Julia Fennell

Michael T. Benson, President of Eastern Kentucky University; Interim Honors Director: David Coleman

Jake B. Schrum, President of Emory & Henry College; Honors Director: Joe Lane

Mark P. Becker, President of Georgia State University; Honors Dean: Larry Berman

Thomas J. Haas, President of Grand Valley State University; Honors Director: Jeff Chamberlain

Jerry Corcoran, President of Illinois Valley Community College; Honors Director: Adam Oldaker

Joseph E. Nyre, President of Iona College; Honors Director: Kim Paffenroth

Jonathan Alger, President of James Madison University; Honors Director: Bradley Newcomer

Gail O. Mellow, President of LaGuardia Community College/CUNY; Honors Director: Karlyn Koh

Kimberly R. Cline, President of LIU; Honors Director: Joan Digby, LIU Post; Honors Director: James P. Clarke, LIU Brooklyn

Kevin Wm. Wildes, President of Loyola University New Orleans; Honors Director: Naomi Yavneh Klos

Stephen J. Jerome, President of Monroe College; Honors Coordinator: Kathryn M. MacDonald

Harold L. Martin, Sr., Chancellor of North Carolina A&T State University; Honors Director: Michael K. Cundall, Jr.

Geoffrey S. Mearns, President of Northern Kentucky University; Interim Honors Director: Belle Zembrodt

George L. Hanbury II, President of Nova Southeastern University; Honors Dean: Don Rosenblum

William M. Wilson, President of Oral Roberts University; Honors Director: John Korstad

Dennis R. Harkins, President of Orange Coast College; Honors Coordinator: Karen Baker

Larry Rice, President of Rogers State University; Honors Director: Jim Ford

Ron Bormans, President of Rotterdam University of Applied Sciences (the Netherlands); Honors Dean: Ron Weerheijm

Tashni-Ann Dubroy, President of Shaw University; Honors Director: Kim Q. B. Leathers

David L. Chicoine, President of South Dakota State University; Honors Director: Timothy J. Nichols

Sean Burrage, President of Southeastern Oklahoma State University; Honors Director: Lisa L. Coleman

Baker Pattillo, President of Stephen F. Austin State University; Honors Director: Michael Tkacik

Dan R. Jones, President of Texas A&M University – Commerce; Honors Dean: Raymond J. Green

James R. Johnsen, President of University of Alaska; Interim Honors Dean: John Mouracade (Anchorage); Honors Coordinator: Sol Neely (Southeast); Honors Director: Marsha Sousa (Fairbanks)

Susan J. Koch, Chancellor of University of Illinois at Springfield; Honors Director: Marc Klingshirn

Marc A. Johnson, President of University of Nevada, Reno; Honors Director: Tamara M. Valentine

Bonita C. Jacobs, President of University of North Georgia; Honors Director: Stephen Smith

Mark A. Heckler, President of Valparaiso University; Honors Dean: Peter Kanelos

Michael Rao, President of Virginia Commonwealth University; Honors Dean: Barry Falk

M. Roy Wilson, President of Wayne State University; Honors Dean: Jerry Herron

E. Gordon Gee, President of West Virginia University; Honors Dean: Kenneth P. Blemings

Gary A. Ransdell, President of Western Kentucky University; Honors Director: Craig T. Cobane

Steve Morgan, President of Westminster College; Honors Director: Richard Badenhausen

Albert Cornelissen, President of Windesheim University of Applied Sciences (the Netherlands); Honors Dean: Josephine Woltman Elpers