Law, College of



Date of this Version

Fall 2020

Document Type



Nebraska Transcript — Fall 2020, Vol. 53, No.2


Copyright 2020 University of Nebraska College of Law


Dean's Message - Richard Moberly 1

Professor Anthony Schutz focuses on pedagogy, research as College’s new associate dean for faculty 4

Women Lead 2020 conference spurs attendees to ‘Claim Your Power’ 6

Molly Brummond honored for her outstanding contributions to women 10

John Lenich honored for work with students 12

Bobby Larsen selected as American Constitution Society Next Generation Leader 13

Anna Shavers receives Nebraska Bar Association 2020 Diversity Award 13

Sullivan’s Tenant Assistance Project represents renters facing eviction 14

Alumni, Tenant Assistance Project, a projected conceived by alumna Mindy Rush Chipman, ’07, and professor Ryan Sullivan, ’10, honored with community awards 18

Schmid Fellowship Program expands to provide summer experiences amidst COVID-19 pandemic, overseen by Professor of Law Library Stefanie Pearlman. 19

University launches innovative center to study how technology is governed, founding director, Gus Hurwitz, 22

Faculty Notes 24: Jack M. Beard, Eric Berger, Kristen M. Blankley, Robert C. Denicola, Richard F. Duncan, Justin W. (Gus) Hurwitz, Richard A. Leiter, Brian D. Lepard, Colleen E. Medill, Harvey S. Perlman, Josephine (Jo) R. Potuto, Matthew Schaefer, Anna Williams Shavers, Jessica A. Shoemaker, Ryan P. Sullivan, Adam Thimmesch, Steven L. Willborn

Faculty research seeks solutions for problems impacting Nebraskans 32

Steve Mattoon,’76, finds silver linings while leading state bar association during unprecedented times 34

Despite pandemic, social distancing, remote classrooms, new faculty adjusting to Nebraska, Law College 37

Patty Cavanagh retires after 19 years of care, kindness, relationship building 40

Class of 2020 celebrates milestones online, outdoors 41

AlumNotes 42

In Memoriam: Donald L. Marti, ’59; Howard F. Ach, ’63; Larry D. Knox, ’63; Larry D. Hall, ’67; Dennis C. Karnopp, ’67; Lanny N. Fauss, ’68; Herbert D. Knudsen, ’68; Willard C. Weinhold, ’68; David L. Chambers, ’70; Melvin R. Katskee, ’71; Timothy J. Otto, ’73, Carol J. Wightman, ’76; Mary L. Broerman, ’79; R. Craig Fry, ’80; Kevin G. Duling, ’81; Calvin D. Hansen, ’82; Kevin K. Knake, ’88; Lena R. (Rathje) Hockabout, ’97

Report on Giving

Included in

Law Commons