Law, College of



Date of this Version

Fall 2021

Document Type



The Nebraska Transcript: University of Nebraska College of Law. Fall 2021


Dean's Message

Lovell making a difference through civil rights advocacy 12

Russell Lovell, ’69, executive summary of forthcoming article 16

Beard named editor-in-chief of Woomera Manual 4

Tech Refactored Podcast hits milestones 6

Shoemaker earns Carnegie Fellowship to explore rural futures 8

Immigration Clinic students hold second annual naturalization clinic 19

Nebraska Law joins national police practices effort 20

Professor Eric Berger: Examining lethal injection 22

Grant expands access to attorneys in rural areas 24

Clinical Legal Education Association recognizes Dugger, Lengeling, O’Neill and Sonnenfeld 26

Murga Rios awarded Immigrant Justice Corps fellowship 28

Faculty Notes 30

Professor Kyle Langvardt: Regulating speech in the 21st century 38

2021, 2020 graduates celebrated at Pinnacle Bank Arena commencement ceremony 45

AlumNotes 48

In Memoriam : William F. Colwell, Ben Novicoff, Ward C. Urbom, George C. Hupp, Sr., Theodore W. Vrana, Robert E. Orshek, Robert D. Zimmerman, John E. Dier, H. David Neely, John E. Wilson, Mark A. Buchholz, Gretchen D. Huston, Norman M. Krivosha, Charles E. Wright, Jack L. Lewis, Guy F. “Jeff” Bush, Jerome A. “Jerry” Hoffman, Donald R. Hays, Ronald C. “R.C.” Cougill, Charles L. “Charly” Johnson, Cloyd Clark,John M. Guthery, Brian F. Beckner, John B. Hiller, John H. Lonnquist, J. Christian Angle, Richard H. Jensen, David K. Karnes, Donald J. Kinlin, Reed E. Clark, Terrence L. Wightman, Michael C. Klein, Ruth A. Parvin, Terry E. Schraeder, James P. Broderick, Dennis R. Onnen, Robert J. “Bob” Cashoili, Robert P. Goodwin, Michael D. Beckler, Sally S. Bredensteiner, Larry H. Skeen, Janet S. Anderson, Macey Kate Jeppesen (Kroeger), Laurie Smith Camp,

Report on Giving 61

Included in

Law Commons