Agricultural Economics Department


Date of this Version



Cornhusker Economics (February 2012)


Published by University of Nebraska–Lincoln Extension, Institute of Agriculture & Natural Resources, Department of Agricultural Economics. Copyright © [2012] Board of Regents, University of Nebraska.


Nebraska is one of eight states that restrict the ownership of agricultural land by aliens (i.e., noncitizens). The other states are Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota and Wisconsin. Foreign land ownership is generally unrestricted in the remaining states. Federal law does not restrict alien land ownership, but does require alien land owners to report ownership to the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA). This newsletter will (1) examine the extent of foreign land ownership within the United States and Nebraska, and (2) summarize Nebraska’s laws restricting alien land ownership.